3rd annual Decom North Sea Awards recognise sector commitment

Source: press release, 26 August 2020

Jinda Nelson, Chair of Decom North Sea Board
Jinda Nelson, Chair of Decom North Sea Board (photo: DNS)

The winners of the 2020 Decom North Sea Awards were announced 25 August, ahead of this week’s annual Decom Offshore conference and exhibition.

For the first time, the Awards were open for entries from non-Decom North Sea (DNS) members and celebrated excellence within a number of areas of the wider decommissioning sector, including collaboration, technical innovation and the next generation of talent.

The Awards have continued to expand, with the introduction of three new categories which highlight not only current activity within the sector, but also recognise past contributions: Innovative Contracting Award, Decom North Sea Member Award, and the Decom North Sea Emeritus Award.

The final category was awarded to two individuals, recognised for their commitment to both DNS and the evolution of the North Sea decommissioning sector.

Founding Chief Executive of Decom North Sea, Brian Nixon, received the award following a career spanning more than 40 years. His leadership of Decom North Sea, between 2010 – 2014, firmly established the organisation as the principle authority and source of knowledge around what was, at that stage, an emerging sector. The effects of his work in driving collaboration, business development opportunities, technical innovation and sector efficiency are widely acknowledged as contributing to the decommissioning landscape of today.

The Decom North Sea Emeritus Award (posthumous) has been awarded to Willem van Es, who passed away in January of this year.

Commenting on Willem’s contribution to the organisation, Jinda Nelson, Chair of the DNS Board says, “A committed supporter of Decom North Sea and Board member for several years, Willem’s unrivalled decommissioning experience included time as Project Manager on the North West Hutton and Miller decommissioning projects – both high-profile and pioneering in their approach.”

“Generous with his vast knowledge and experience, Willem’s insight proved invaluable to the organisation time and again. We have lost not only an outstanding business colleague, but also a close friend and the organisation is pleased to be able to commemorate his contribution in this way,” adds Nelson.

The full list of Decom North Sea Award 2020 winners:

  • Excellence in Collaboration Award: Augean North Sea Services
  • Young Professional in Decommissioning Award: Craig Roberts, Utility ROV
  • Technical Innovation in Decommissioning Award: Unity
  • Innovative Contracting Models Award: Petrofac
  • Decom North Sea Member Award: John Lawrie Ltd
  • Emeritus Member Award: Brian Nixon
  • Emeritus Member Award (posthumous): Willem van Es