Ørsted appoints its next Group CFO

Source: press release, 2 February 2022

Ørsted Group Chief Financial Officer, Daniel Lerup
Ørsted Group Chief Financial Officer, Daniel Lerup (photo: Ørsted)

Ørsted’s Board of Directors has appointed Daniel Lerup as the next Group Chief Financial Officer (CFO) and member of Ørsted’s Executive Committee as of 8 April 2022. Daniel Lerup is currently Senior Vice President, Head of Commercial and EPC & Operation Finance at Ørsted and has worked for Ørsted since 2009.

The appointment follows the resignation of Group CFO Marianne Wiinholt on 23 December 2021. To find the best possible candidate, the Board of Directors initiated a process to identify Ørsted’s next CFO which included both internal and external candidates.

Thomas Thune Andersen, Chairman of the Board of Directors of Ørsted A/S, says, “On behalf of the Board, I’m very pleased to announce Daniel Lerup as our next Group CFO. Daniel has extensive experience from several corporate finance functions, a strong strategic mindset, and in-depth knowledge of Ørsted’s markets, business, and finance.”

Mads Nipper, Group President and CEO, says, “I look forward to working even more closely with Daniel Lerup as Group CFO and member of Ørsted’s Executive Committee. He’s a strong leader and ready to step up and become the next Group CFO of Ørsted. He’ll support our global growth, while keeping financial discipline to help fulfil our ambition of becoming the world’s green energy major.” He continues, “I’m very proud that our recruitment process has confirmed our strong talent pipeline.”

Daniel Lerup says, “Ørsted has a strong purpose – to help fight climate change and create a world that runs entirely on green energy – and a very strong market position. I’ve enjoyed working with the Ørsted team for the past 13 years and I’m excited about the journey that lies ahead of us. I’m very grateful for the trust the Board and CEO have extended to me, and I look forward to joining the Executive Committee and to leading Ørsted’s Finance function.”

Marianne Wiinholt will remain in office until the Annual General Meeting on 8 April 2022, after which Daniel Lerup will take over.